New Hampshire Hourly Paycheck Calculator
New Hampshire was one of the original 13 colonies, founded by tenacious adventurers and savvy citizens. Their strong spirit helped them survive the harsh New England winters.
If you’re a small business owner in New Hampshire, you undoubtedly have the grit to succeed. And if thinking about payroll taxes makes you shiver, we understand. We’ve got you covered with the key New Hampshire payroll tax information laid out below.
New Hampshire payroll taxes
Here’s what you need to know about withholding payroll taxes in New Hampshire.
- New Hampshire payroll taxes start with employees filling out Form W-4. This information helps you determine how much you should withhold.
- If an employee does not complete this form, you will need to withhold tax as though no exemptions were claimed.
- Employees need to update Form W-4 in case of life events (such as marriage, divorce, birth or adoption of a child, etc.) which may impact their taxes.
- The personal income tax rate in New Hampshire is 4%.
Additional New Hampshire forms
In addition to Form W-4 mentioned above, New Hampshire employers also need to file the following forms:
- New Hampshire Quarterly Contribution (SUI) (NH DES 200A)
- NH New Hire Report
New Hampshire unemployment tax rate
New Hampshire requires most employers to pay unemployment insurance tax to help compensate workers who are out of work through no fault of their own.
- Employers pay New Hampshire unemployment tax on the first $14,000 of an employee’s wages.
- Experienced employers pay at a rate of 0–8.5%.
- Unemployment tax in New Hampshire should be paid quarterly to the NHES Web Tax & New Hire Reporting System.
Paying New Hampshire taxes
Here’s what you need to know about paying New Hampshire taxes:
- How often employers pay depends on the amount of tax you withhold in a year.
- New Hampshire’s payment frequencies are monthly, weekly, semi-monthly, and quarterly.
Other New Hampshire taxes
New Hampshire employers are also required to pay or withhold the following taxes:
- New Hampshire Paid Medical and Family Leave
New Hampshire minimum wage
In 2023, the minimum wage in New Hampshire is $7.25 per hour.
New Hampshire overtime pay
Because New Hampshire doesn’t have any state law governing overtime pay, the federal rules under the Fair Labor Standards Act apply. Generally speaking, hourly employees are to be paid time-and-a-half for all hours worked over 40 hours in a week.
Requirements to obtain Workers’ Compensation vary by state. This table outlines some of these requirements. If you determine that your company is required to purchase Workers’ Compensation insurance in your state, learn how to sign up for this insurance with Gusto. Sometimes, companies get a request for a workers’ comp audit—head to this article and click the workers’ comp audit reports dropdown for more information.
Employers in New Hampshire need to report new employees.
- New hires must be reported to New Hampshire Employment Security.
- New hires must be reported within 20 days of their first day of work.
You must provide a pay stub to every employee that includes:
- Company’s legal name and address
- Employee’s name and last four digits of their Social Security number
- Pay period beginning and end dates
- Total hours worked
- Rate of pay
- Gross wages
- The amount and reason for any deduction
Employers must pay final wages to employees within a certain timeframe, depending on the circumstances for leaving.
- If a worker voluntarily resigns, final wages are due next scheduled payday. If the employee gives at least one pay period’s notice, then within 72 hours.
- For involuntary terminations of employment, final wages are due within 72 hours.
New Hampshire law requires employers to provide the following types of time off to employees.
- Jury duty
- Family & parental leave, per the unemployment insurance law. (Any New Hampshire employer may purchase a New Hampshire Paid Family & Medical Leave insurance plan for their New Hampshire workers under this voluntary program.)
Federal payroll taxes
In addition to New Hampshire-specific taxes, both you and your employees will pay a variety of federal payroll taxes. Check out the breakdown below.
Federal income tax
Unless they are exempt, your employees will pay federal income tax.
- You must withhold federal income tax from employees’ pay, unless they are exempt.
- Each employee’s Form W-4 will differ based on their filing status and dependents, among other details—so the amount of income tax to be withheld will vary.
- Form W-4 does not need to be sent to the IRS, but should be kept for your records.
Both you and your employees will pay Federal Insurance Contributions Act, or FICA tax.
- FICA is made up of the Medicare tax and the Social Security tax.
- In 2023, the Social Security tax requires employers and employees to each contribute 6.2% of wages up to $2,600.
- The Medicare tax requires employers and employees to each contribute 1.45% of all wages.
- See the IRS webpage for details, like maximum thresholds.
Like the state, the federal government also has an unemployment tax, called FUTA, which is paid by employers.
- FUTA is an annual tax an employer pays on the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages.
- The FUTA rate for 2023 is 6.0%, but many employers are able to pay less, for instance, up to 5.4% each year due to tax credits.
- Most employers will pay this tax annually with Form 940. But larger employers with more than $500 in tax due will have to pay quarterly.
Additional Medicare tax
The Additional Medicare tax is paid by employees. Here’s what you should know:
- For employees who earn over $200,000 per year, 0.9% of earnings will need to be withheld for the Additional Medicare tax.
- Whether or not your employee owes this tax may depend on their filing status.
Paying federal taxes
How often you’ll pay federal payroll taxes depends on how much you owe.
- Semi-weekly or monthly payments are required for federal withholding, Additional Medicare, and FICA taxes. And every quarter, a summary payroll tax return is due on Form 941, Employer’s Quarterly Federal Tax Return.
- Quarterly or annual payments are required for federal unemployment tax. Most employers will pay annually, but quarterly payments are necessary if you owe more than $500. Each time you make a payment, you’ll need to file a payroll tax return on Form 940, Employer’s Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return.
We’re here to help
If you don’t love manual number crunching and payroll taxes sound overwhelming to you, take advantage of Gusto’s full-service payroll options or use an experienced accountant to help you with the process.