Q: What Are the New Hire Reporting Requirements in My State?

As you know, there’s a lot of paperwork involved whenever you hire new employees. One of your most important (and time-sensitive) responsibilities is reporting new hires to your state, which is required by the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA).

The law is designed to help keep track of working parents so that child support obligations can be enforced.

This article explains the most important new hire reporting requirements by state. Read on to find out what you’re required to report, and when, along with how to meet your reporting obligations if you operate your business in more than one state.

What you’re required to report

New hire reports must contain the following information:

About your employee:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Social Security Number

About your business:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)

Federal law requires that new hires be reported to states within 20 days of hire, but some states have shorter timelines (which override the federal one). The new hire report must be made on a W-4 or equivalent form and can be sent to your state by mail or electronically.

Information for multi-state employers

If you have employees in more than one state and report either magnetically or electronically, you have the option of reporting all of your new hires to just one of those states.

To do this, you need to register with HHS as a multi-state employer and identify which state you’ll be reporting to.

What about re-hires?

According to the HHS, if your returning employee is required to complete a new W-4, or hasn’t been employed with you for at least 60 consecutive days, that person is considered a new hire and should be reported as such.

But if your employee has not been formally terminated or removed from your payroll records, or returns within 60 days, you don’t need to report them as a new hire.

State-by-state new hire reporting deadlines

HHS has put together a list of frequently asked questions about new-hire reporting, along with a state-by-state chart.

Below are the deadlines for each state, along with a link to the relevant agency website.

Alabama new hire reporting deadline: Within 7 days of hire (or rehire) date

Alabama Department of Labor

Alaska new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Alaska Department of Revenue

Arizona new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Arizona New Hire Reporting Center

Arkansas new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Arkansas New Hire Reporting Center

California new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Employee Registry – California’s New Hire Reporting Program

Colorado new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

State Directory of New Hires – New Hire Reporting

Connecticut new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Hire Reporting

Delaware new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire (or rehire) date

Delaware State Directory of New Hire Reporting

District of Columbia new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire (or rehire) date

District of Columbia Directory of New Hires

Florida new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of start date

Child Support Services for Employers

Georgia new hire reporting deadline: Within 10 days of hire date

Georgia New Hire Reporting Center

Guam new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Attorney General of Guam

Hawaii new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Child Support Enforcement Agency | Information for Employers

Idaho new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of start date

Report Your New Hires

Illinois new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

DCSS: New Hire Reporting

Indiana new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Indiana New Hire Reporting Center

Iowa new hire reporting deadline: Within 15 days of hire date

Iowa DHS Employer Site

Kansas new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Employers – KDOL

Kentucky new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Kentucky New Hire Reporting Center

Louisiana new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Louisiana New Hire Reporting

Maine new hire reporting deadline: Within 7 days of hire date

Maine Employer Portal

Maryland new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire (or rehire) date

Maryland New Hire Reporting

Fall in love with modern payroll

Massachusetts new hire reporting deadline: Within 14 days of start date

New Hire Reporting Program

Michigan new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Employer Services Portal

Minnesota new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Minnesota New Hire Reporting Center

Mississippi new hire reporting deadline: Within 15 days of hire date

Mississippi State Directory of New Hires

Missouri new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Hire Information

Montana new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Hire Reporting Program

Nebraska new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Nebraska State Directory of New Hires

Nevada new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

The Nevada Unemployment Insurance Claim Filing System

New Hampshire new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Business Compliance | Services for Employers

New Jersey new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire (or rehire) date

New Jersey Child Support Employer Services Portal

New Mexico new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Mexico New Hire Directory

New York new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Hire Reporting

North Carolina new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of start date

NC New Hire Directory

North Dakota new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Hire Reporting

Ohio new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Ohio New Hire Reporting Center

Oklahoma new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

OESC New Hire

Oregon new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Oregon Department of Justice Child Support

Pennsylvania new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire (or rehire) date

PA CareerLink

Puerto Rico new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire (or rehire) date

Puerto Rico Department of Labor

Rhode Island new hire reporting deadline: Within 14 days of start date

Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory

South Carolina new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of start date

SC New Hire

South Dakota new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Hire Reporting

Tennessee new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Tennessee New Hire Reporting Program

Texas new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Texas Attorney General – Employer Page

Utah new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Utah Department of Workforce Services

Vermont new hire reporting deadline: Within 10 days of hire date

New Hire Reporting and Verification Systems

Virginia new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire (or rehire) date

Virginia New Hire Reporting Center

Virgin Islands new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Labor

Washington new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

New Hire Reporting

West Virginia new hire reporting deadline: Within 14 days of hire date

West Virginia New Hire Reporting Center

Wisconsin new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Wisconsin New Hire Reporting Center

Wyoming new hire reporting deadline: Within 20 days of hire date

Wyoming New Hire Reporting Center

What if I miss the new hire reporting deadline?

Under federal law, states may charge a penalty of up to $25 per newly hired employee for failure to report. And if there’s a conspiracy between you and an employee not to report, that penalty can go up to $500 per employee.

The dollar amount isn’t massive, but it can add up over time with multiple employees. Plus, the law is meant to protect children in your state, and it can’t do that if employers don’t fulfill their reporting obligations.

If you have any questions, contact the appropriate state agency linked above.

Comments

  • john

    does gusto do new hire reporting for me? if not, why not?

    Reply
  • Christine

    Is there a different form/process for new hires that are independent contractors vs. not?

    Reply
    • Gusto Editors

      Hi Christine — it can depend on your state! We recommend talking to your CPA/attorney about this, as they’ll be able to provide information specific to your situation!

      Reply
  • Paul Gerhartz

    If a current employee relocates to a new state, do I need to hire the ‘new hire report’ for that state? Or is this only for brand new employees?

    Reply
    • Gusto Editors

      Hi Paul, great question! We recommend reaching out to your state agency to confirm. Usually, your new state may require it because the New Hire Reports help keep track of employees in case of any liens, garnishments, etc.

      Reply
  • Eugen Bräunig

    When I first sign up for Gusto as a company owner/employee of said company does Gusto file this report on my behalf?

    Reply
  • Melissa

    How can I see if the new hire paperwork was submitted to the state by Gusto?

    Reply
  • Susan

    Do I have to file a New Hire form for 1099 Contractors ?

    Reply

*Required fields

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top