Are you a business owner in Georgia? Or, maybe you’re considering launching your next venture in the Peach State? Then you’ve come to the right place! Here, you’ll find guidance on how to start a business, fund your business, operate your business, hire employees, file for taxes, stay compliant in your state, and more.
Bookmark this page and keep checking back to track new legislation and developments in Georgia that may affect your company. Now, let’s dive in!
How to register your business in the state of Georgia
First thing is first: Here is how you register your new business in Georgia.
Find funding for your Georgia-based business
Every business, whether new or established, requires funding. Luckily, there are business loans and grants specifically designed for Georgia-based businesses. Check out the Georgia business funding page to find a loan or grant that’s a fit for your company.
How to file and pay business taxes in Georgia
Navigating the tax landscape can be complex—especially for busy business owners. Here is an up-to-date tax guide for Georgia businesses.
Managing employees in Georgia
- Here’s the employer’s guide to hiring employees in Georgia while remaining compliant.
- Are you calculating employee paychecks? Use this Georgia salary paycheck calculator to determine withholdings and calculate take-home pay for your employees in Georgia. (We do the math for you.)
- Need to calculate hourly employee paychecks? We’ve got a Georgia hourly paycheck calculator, too.
- If you’re hiring in the capital, check out our salary date for employees in Atlanta.
|Minimum wage in Georgia
|SUI tax rate in Georgia
|Georgia DOL website
|$5.15 per hour (employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 federal minimum wage)
$2.13 minimum tipped wage per hour
|New employer tax rate: 2.7%
Tax rate range: 0.06% – 8.1%
Wage base: $9,500
|Georgia Department of Labor