Finances and Taxes

What Is An Annual Report (AKA a Statement of Information) and Do I Need One?

Kim Porter  

Running a business can be fulfilling, but some items on your to-do list won’t be all that exciting. Like tending to your annual compliance responsibilities. One of those mundane tasks involves telling the authorities you’re still in business. 

In just about every state, business owners have to file a document that’s most commonly known as an annual report. Your state might have a different name for this type of document, for instance: statement of information, business privilege tax return, annual registration, biennial report, and annual list of officers and directors (to name just a few). 

In some states, the form may require just a few simple details, like the business’s name and address, and in other states the form is more in-depth. It’s critical that you fill it out and submit by the deadline, though. Otherwise, your state may charge a steep penalty or even consider your business dissolved. Here’s what to know.

What is an annual report?

An annual report is a document most business owners have to file with their secretary of state every year (or, in some cases, every two or more years). The report is relatively simple and ensures the company’s information is accurate and up to date. They’re usually public record, so your clients, lending institutions, and licensing agencies might pull your annual report to make sure you’re in good standing. If you don’t file your annual report on time—or at all—your state may charge a penalty fee and dissolve your business. 

The information you have to report on this form varies by state, but it might include: 

  • Your business’s name and address
  • What your business does
  • Names and addresses of managers and members (if an LLC) or officers and directors (if a corporation)
  • Name and address of your registered agent

Submitting your annual report

As a business owner, you’ll need to dig up some details. Namely, find out whether your state requires an annual report, which types of businesses must file one, when you need to file one, and whether there’s a filing fee.  

The due date is usually tied to the date you formed or registered with the state, and the fee might be based on the type of entity you run—and whether the business is domestic or foreign.

If you have to create an annual report, you’ll typically submit it to your secretary of state along with a processing fee every year. Below, we’ve gathered details about annual reports in each state. Depending on your entity and where you live, you might have other filing requirements to fulfill, too. So use the information as a starting point, but check with your state to confirm the exact details. 

StateName of reportSubmission frequencyDue dateWhich companies file?Filing feePenalty fee
AlabamaBusiness Privilege Tax ReturnYearlySame as federal returnCorporations and limited liability entities$0 10% of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater
AlaskaBiennial Report2 yearsDepends on business structureCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, cooperatives$25-$200$5-$47.50
ArizonaAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on business structureCorporations, LLPs$3-$45$0 or $9 per month
ArkansasAnnual Franchise Tax ReportYearly1-MayCorporations, LLCs, banks, and insurance companies$0, Min. $150, or $400$25 plus interest added daily
CaliforniaStatement of InformationDepends on business structureLast day of the business anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs$20-$25$250
ColoradoPeriodic ReportYearlyLast day of the business anniversary monthAll reporting entities$10 online$50
ConnecticutAnnual ReportYearlyBusiness anniversary dateCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs$50-$435$0
DelawareAnnual Franchise Tax ReportYearly1-JunLLCs, partnerships$300 tax$200.00 plus 1.5% interest per month on tax and penalty
DelawareAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on business structureCorporations$25-$125 plus franchise tax fees$125
District of ColumbiaBiennial Report2 Years1-AprCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs$80-$300$50-$100
FloridaAnnual ReportYearly1-MayFor-profit corporations, LLCs, LLLPs, and LPs$61.25-$500$0 or $400
GeorgiaAnnual RegistrationYearly1-AprCorporations, LLCs, LLLPs, LLPs, LPs$25-$50$25
HawaiiAnnual ReportYearlyThe quarter that contains the anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, and partnerships$2.50-$15.00$10
IdahoAnnual ReportYearlyLast day of the anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, LLPs$0 $0
IllinoisAnnual ReportYearlyFirst day of the anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, LPs$75-$100Depends on business structure
IndianaBusiness Entity Report2 YearsLast day of anniversary monthAll nonprofit and for-profit businesses$20-$50$0
IowaBiennial Report2 Years1-AprCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs$0-$60$0
KansasAnnual ReportYearlyThe 15th day of the 4th month following the tax closing monthCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs, business trusts, certain cooperatives$50-$55$0
KentuckyAnnual ReportYearly30-JunAll registered entities$15 $0
LouisianaAnnual ReportYearlyAnniversary dateCorporations, LLCs, LLPs$10-$125$0
MaineAnnual ReportYearly1-JunCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs$35-$150$25-$50
MarylandAnnual ReportYearly15-AprCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs, credit unions, financial institutions, banks, trust companies$0-$300Depends on whether you have property in MD
MassachusettsAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on the business structureCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs, trusts$15-$520$0-$25
MichiganAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on the business structureCorporations, LLCs, LLPs$20-$100$0-$50
MinnesotaAnnual RenewalYearlyDec. 31Corporations, LLCs, LLPs, cooperatives$0-$115$0
MississippiAnnual ReportYearly15-AprCorporations, LLCs$0-$250None
MissouriAnnual ReportYearlyFor corporations organized on or after July 1, 2003: Last day of the anniversary monthCorporations$10-$105$15 per 30-day period
MontanaAnnual ReportYearly15-AprCorporations, LLCs$20 $15
NebraskaBiennial Report2 YearsDepends on business structureCorporations, LLCs, LLPsVariesVaries
NevadaAnnual List of Officers and DirectorsYearlyLast day of the anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, LLLPs, LLPs, LPsStarts at $50, see fee schedule$50-$75
NevadaAnnual List of Managers or MembersYearlyLast day of the anniversary monthLLCs$150 + $200 state business license fee$100-$175
New HampshireAnnual ReportYearly1-AprCorporations, LLCs, LLPs$25-$100$0-$50
New JerseyAnnual ReportYearlyLast day of the anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, LLPs$30-$75$0
New MexicoBiennial Report2 YearsThe 15th day of the 3rd month after the close of the taxable yearCorporations$10-$25$10-$200
New YorkBiennial Statement2 YearsLast day of anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs$9 None
North CarolinaAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on business structureCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LLLPs, cooperative associations$10-$202$10 for professional corporations and professional LLCs
North DakotaAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on business structureCorporations, LLCs, LPS, LLPs, LLLPs$10-$50$5-$60
OhioCertificate of Continued Existence5 YearsLast day of anniversary monthNonprofit corporations$25 $0
OhioBiennial Report2 Years (even)1-JulLLPs, professional associations$25 $0
OklahomaAnnual CertificateYearlyAnniversary dateLLCs, LPsMin. $10-$50$0
OregonAnnual ReportYearlyAnniversary dateCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs$50-$275None
PennsylvaniaDecennial Report10 YearsDec. 31Corporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs$70 $500 for LLCs
Rhode IslandAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on business structureCorporations, LLCs$50-$60$25
South Carolinan/an/an/an/an/an/a
South DakotaAnnual ReportYearlyFirst day of anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, cooperatives$10-$65$50
TennesseeAnnual ReportYearlyThe first day of the 4th month following the company's fiscal year closingCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs$20-$3,000None
TexasAnnual Report with a Public Information Report or Texas Franchise Tax ReportYearly15-MayCorporations, LLCs, LPs$0 Varies
UtahAnnual ReportYearlyAnniversary dateCorporations, LLCs, LLLPs, LLPs, LPs, business trusts, limited cooperative associations$7-$27$0-$10
VermontBiennial Report2 Years1-AprNonprofit corporations and nonprofit cooperative corporations$20 $25
VermontAnnual ReportYearlyDepends on business structureCorporations, LLCs$15-$200$25
VirginiaAnnual RegistrationYearlyDepends on business structureCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs, and business trusts$25-$1,700$10-$25 or $100-$1,700
WashingtonAnnual ReportYearlyLast day of the anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, LLLPs, LLPs, LPs$10-$60$25
West VirginiaAnnual ReportYearly (2 Years for some business structures)1-JulCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, LPs, voluntary associations, business trusts, and some insurance companies$25-$500$25-$50
WisconsinAnnual ReportYearlyLast day of the quarter that contains the formation monthCorporations, LLCs, LLPs$10-$80$0
WyomingAnnual ReportYearlyFirst day of anniversary monthCorporations, LLCs, LLPs, trusts$50-$500None

Kim Porter
Kim Porter Kim Porter covers personal finance topics for AARP The Magazine, Bankrate, U.S. News & World Report, Reviewed, Credit Karma, and more. When she’s not writing, you can find her training for her next race, reading, or planning her next big trip. Twitter | LinkedIn
Back to top